top of page

Beauty on a Budget: Affordable Foundations


As a professional makeup artist and makeup lover, I have worked to balance my love of makeup and my budget (read: limited funds). I do not mind splurging on products for my clients; however, I am more cost-conscious toward the day-to-day products in my personal makeup collection.

Cheaper price does not always mean cheaper quality. This holds true for the three foundations pictured to the left. These foundations are staples in my everyday makeup routine. All three have good staying power and coverage, light formulas, and will not put a huge dent in the bank account (prices range from $8-$15).

(Pictured from left to right)

The Milani Cosmetics "Conceal + Perfect 2-in-1 Foundation + Concealer" is heavy on my rotation right now. It's buildable coverage works to create a flawless, dewy finish. For oily and combination skin, I recommend using an oil control primer (I'll provide recommendations on affordable primers). This formula provides a natural finish that looks like your skin.

Maybelline "Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation is the go to for my everyday no-makeup look and is a part of my work makeup routine. Its coverage is a little sheerer than Milani. It is a great choice for someone with moderate blemishes who can use lighter coverage to even out skin tone. For oily and combination skin, I also recommend using an oil control primer.

Revlon "ColorStay Makeup" is true to its name. With the added security of a setting powder, you can confidently wear this foundation from your 9am board meeting to the 6pm happy hour. I rotate using this foundation with the Maybelline foundation for my work makeup. I feel the coverage is a little stronger than the Maybelline, but it also provides an even, skin-like finish.

Your day-to-day makeup products do not have to break the bank. There is nothing wrong with splurging on higher-end products. However, if you are like me and love buying makeup but your income and your makeup habit don't get along, you have a range of options to feed your habit and keep your wallet happy.

bottom of page