top of page

Why I Stopped "Washing" My Face


When micellar water first caught my attention, I was pretty skeptical. After all, “It’s just water. Why would I pay $9- $13 for something I can get for free from my sink?”

When I finally decided to make the purchase I was curious, but mostly desperate. All my facial cleansers were drying out my skin, even the ones that claimed to be for sensitive skin. After washing my face I would have to lather on multiple layers of moisturizer. I knew this couldn’t be life.

I was immediately satisfied with this purchase after first use. I soaked a round cotton pad with the cleanser and applied it like I would a toner. The cool liquid felt good on my skin and left my skin feeling clean, but hydrated.  

Over time, there was a noticeable difference in my skin. Fine bumps disappeared and pores were visibly smaller. I no longer needed to lather my face with layers of moisturizer and no longer needed heavier moisturizers.

Then I became intrigued. What makes this water so special? What is a micellar?

I found micellar water consists of micelles or tiny balls of cleaning oil molecules. The oil molecules attach to dirt, oil, and makeup and breaks it down. It is a non-irritating, moisturizing cleanser that works great on sensitive, dry, and acne-prone skin.

I now use 2 types of micellar waters: Garnier’s SkinActive Micellar Cleansing Water All Skin Types (with the blue lid) and Garnier’s SkinActive Micellar All-in-1 Mattifying Micellar Cleansing Water (with the green lid). I use the former for removing makeup, which works great with removing waterproof eye makeup. I use the latter as a toner and my everyday cleanser. There are other brands of micellar waters available, but I also love that Garnier offers travel sizes.

Micellar water changed my life. It has replaced my daily face wash. I no longer wash my face, now I cleanse.

bottom of page